Recent News

Cannon School Dominates at NC Middle School Championship

BADIN, NC--Stroke play results of the 15th NC Middle School Championship hosted by Badin Inn GC in Badin, NC on Saturday, September 24, 2016 (5,229 yards, par 34-36--70).



Cannon School of Concord, NC continued their dominance as they expanded they doubled their first round lead to a 16 shot victory at the Tarheel Youth Golf Association's (TYGA) 15th NC Middle School Championship at Badin Inn GC in Badin, NC.  Cannon was led by Narayan Mohan of Charlotte, NC who fired a second round two under par 68 to finish three under for the tournament. Mohan received help from 2014 TYGA Middle School girls' champion Amanda Sambach of Davidson, NC who finished her second round with a two over 72.  Cannon finished the event with a two day total, four over par, 284. West Pine Middle of Pinehurst, NC finished in second place with 300 just one shot ahead of Charlotte Country Day of Charlotte, NC.


Mohan, an eighth grader, continued his solid play from round to fire a 3 under par 68 to finish at 137, to win the boys' division by 11.Jackson Bode of Pinehurst, NC, Minor Hinson, III of Charlotte, NC, and Owen Kose of Holly Springs finished tied for second with a two day total of 148.  In the girls' division, Sambach fired a two day total of 147 to win by 13 shots over Maria Atwood of Holly Springs, NC who finished with a total of 160.


All Tournament Teams:

Boys' First Team: Narayan Mohan, Charlotte, NC , Jackson Bode, Pinehurst, NC, Minor Hinson,III, Charlotte, NC, Owen Kose, Holly Springs, NC, Josh Lendach, Raleigh, NC

Boys' Second Team: Charlie Barr, Salisbury, NC, Garrett Hauk, Burlington, NC, Caleb Surratt, Matthews, NC, Colin Dutton, Foxfire, NC, Jackson Brimfield, Chapel Hill, NC, Pearse Lucas, Charlotte, NC


Girls' First Team: Amanda Sambach, Davidson, NC, Maria Atwood, Holly Springs, NC, Laney Wessels, Sophia, NC, Annabelle Millard, Indian Trail, NC, Riya Modak, Concord, NC

Girls' Second Team: Ashton Gupton, Smithfield, NC, Harley Parks, West End, NC, Bethany Welch, Charlotte, NC


Team scoring | Individual scoring | Day two pictures |


Schools (best two scores for the team)  
Place Name Score
1 Cannon School, Concord, NC 284
2 West Pine Middle (Blue), Pinehurst, NC 300
3 Charlotte Country Day, Charlotte, NC 301
T4 Holly Spring Middle, Holly Springs, NC 308
T4 Carmel Christian, Matthews, NC 314
6 Salisbury Academy, Salisbury, NC 320
7 Resurrection Lutheran, Cary, NC 339
8 West Pine Middle (White), Pinehurst, NC 352
9 Mendenhall Middle, Greensboro, NC 384
Girls' (5,229 yards, par 70)  
Place Name Score
1 Amanda Sambach (2021),  Davidson, NC  75-72--147
2 Maria Atwood (2022),  Holly Springs, NC  82-78--160
3 Laney Wessels (2021),  Sophia, NC  84-87--171
4 Annabelle Millard (2022),  Indian Trail, NC  88-90--178
5 Riya Modak (2021),  Concord, NC  93-95--188
6 Ashton Gupton (2021),  Smithfield, NC  93-99--192
7 Harley Parks (2021),  West End, NC  101-105--206
8 Bethany Welch (2023),  Charlotte, NC  115-105--220
Boys' (5,229 yards, par 70)  
Place Name Score
1 Narayan Mohan (2021),  Charlotte, NC  69-68--137
T2 Jackson Bode (2021),  Pinehurst, NC  75-73--148
T2 Minor Hinson III (2021),  Charlotte, NC  74-74--148
T2 Owen Kose (2022),  Holly Springs, NC  73-75--148
5 Josh Lendach (2021),  Raleigh, NC  75-74--149
T6 Charlie Barr (2021),  Salisbury, NC  75-75--150
T6 Garrett Hauk (2021),  Burlington, NC  77-73--150
T8 Caleb Surratt (2022),  Matthews, NC  78-74--152
T8 Colin Dutton (2021),  Foxfire, NC  78-74--152
T10 Jackson Brimfield (2021),  Chapel Hill, NC  78-75--153
T10 Pearse Lucas (2021),  Charlotte, NC  78-75--153
T12 Jack Hilton (2021),  Charlotte, NC  72-82--154
T12 Parker Shimp (2021),  Charlotte, NC  77-77--154
T14 Branden Boyce (2021),  Spring Lake, NC  75-80--155
T14 Colby Patterson (2021),  Salisbury, NC  79-76--155
16 Aidan Browning (2022),  Charlotte, NC  74-83--157
T17 Andrew Plate (2021),  Greensboro, NC  80-78--158
T17 Lingyu An (2021),  Chapel Hill, NC  79-79--158
19 Drew Van Dyke (2022),  Charlotte, NC  83-77--160
20 Bradley McHugh (2023),  Cary, NC  84-85--169
T21 Daniel Boone Jr (2023),  Fuquay Varina, NC  81-89--170
T21 Will Fowler (2021),  Salisbury, NC  86-84--170
T23 Sterling Mace (2021),  Southern Pines, NC  91-84--175
T23 Tyler Steele (2022),  West End, NC  85-90--175
25 Harrison McCall (2022),  Salisbury, NC  88-91--179
26 Carson Burney (2022),  West End, NC  83-98--181
27 Jackson Kuhn (2022),  Foxfire, NC  89-94--183
28 Logan Fox (2023),  Charlotte, NC  112-104--216
29 Winston Eskridge (2021),  Greensboro, NC  118-108--226
30 Michael Caul (2023),  Cary, NC  111-117--228

The TYGA will post any tournament delays or cancellations via our Twitter account. Follow @tygagolf.

About the Tarheel Youth Golf Association (TYGA)

The Tarheel Youth Golf Association (TYGA), a division of the Carolinas Golf Association, a 501 (c) 3 organization, provides playing opportunities for its members, conducts educational seminars and events, acts as a junior golf informational clearinghouse, provides free USGA handicaps to junior golfers in North Carolina, recruits sponsor clubs that grant junior access to golf facilities in North Carolina, publishes monthly North Carolina junior rankings, and awards Junior Player of the Year and All-State awards to the top juniors in North Carolina.  Membership is open to any boy or girl who are legal residents of N.C; are 18 years of age and under; and who have not started college. 

Carolinas Golf Association
140 Ridge Road, Southern Pines, NC 28387
910-673-1000 |
Monday-Friday: 8:30-5:00

Web Design by BlueTone Media